Five-Spice Tilapia

18 Jul


Maybe it’s becoming obvious by the number of Asian recipes I post on here, or maybe it needs to be stated, I love Asian-inspired foods. My fridge is stocked full of various Asian condiments from fish sauce to soy sauce to sesame oil to Sriracha to black bean paste and miscellaneous others I can’t think of off the top of my head. I try to keep these things on-hand at all times because they get used regularly!

One flavor that I find particularly distinctive is Chinese five-spice powder which is a combination of cinnamon, cloves, fennel seed, star anise and Szechuan peppercorns. As much as I enjoy its flavor, I do find that it can be sometimes a little overwhelming when added to recipes. But, of course, that is the point in this recipe, isn’t it? To temper the five-spice powder ever so slightly, a soy sauce and brown sugar mixture is added to the pan to make a delicious and slightly sweet glaze for the fish. Overall, this dish is fast and tasty. Definitely a repeat-worthy dish.

Now, I have a bit of a philosophical question for you. (Not really that serious.) Basically, I am just taking a poll to gauge people’s opinions. Does seafood (fish, shellfish, whatever) constitute “meatless”? You’ll notice that even though today is Monday, I did not tag this post as Meatless Monday because I am not sure how I feel on the subject. I have seen arguments for both sides, and I can agree with both points. I guess it all boils down to personal preference, but I am just curious as to what others who participate in Meatless Mondays designate as a “meatless meal”.

Five-Spice Tilapia

4 4-ounce tilapia fillets
1 teaspoon five-spice powder
1/4 cup reduced-sodium soy sauce
3 tablespoons brown sugar
1 tablespoon canola oil
3 scallions, thinly sliced

Sprinkle both sides of tilapia fillets with five-spice powder. Combine soy sauce and brown sugar in a small bowl.

Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add the tilapia and cook until the outer edges are opaque, about 2 minutes. Reduce heat to medium, turn the fish over, stir the soy mixture and pour into the pan. Bring the sauce to a boil and cook until the fish is cooked through and the sauce has thickened slightly, about 2 minutes more. Add scallions and remove from the heat. Serve the fish drizzled with the pan sauce.

Serves 4.
Source: Eating Well

2 Responses to “Five-Spice Tilapia”

  1. Kayte July 18, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    Looking forward to trying this one! Thanks.

  2. Sarah August 5, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

    Fish=animal, so seafood doesn’t count as meatless to me. (just my honest opinion- no judgement here!)

Leave a Reply

