Enchilada Casserole

6 Jul


Between blogs, magazine subscriptions, e-newsletters, etc. I see a ton of recipes every day. I can’t put my finger on exactly what makes some stand out over others, but sometimes I just see a recipe and think “I have to make this right now.” At least, this was the case when I saw a recipe from Taste of Home for their “Enchilada Casser-Ole!” To me it looked and sounded like a combination of two of my favorite foods: tacos and lasagna. Of course, I had to try it!

I did make a few substitutions; some in order to “healthify” it a bit more, and some just for taste preferences (I was wary of using Italian dressing so I opted for tomato sauce instead). The end result was phenomenal and definitely something I’ll make again. It was also delicious leftover which made a great lunch for the rest of the week – always an added bonus.

Enchilada Casserole
1 pound ground chicken
1/2 medium onion, chopped
1 15-ounce can diced salsa style tomatoes
1 cup dry black beans, cooked
8 ounces no salt added tomato sauce
2 tablespoons taco seasoning
1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
6 whole wheat tortillas
3/4 cup fat free sour cream
4 ounces reduced-fat cheddar cheese, shredded

In a large skillet, cook ground meat and onion over medium heat until meat is no longer pink; drain. Stir in the tomatoes, cooked beans, tomato sauce, taco seasoning and cumin. Place three tortillas in a 2-qt. baking dish coated with cooking spray. Layer with half of the meat mixture, sour cream and cheese. Repeat layers.

Cover and bake at 400° for 25 minutes. Uncover; bake 5-10 minutes longer or until heated through. Let stand for 5 minutes before serving.

Serves 8.
Adapted from Taste of Home

5 Responses to “Enchilada Casserole”

  1. Sarah July 6, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    Haha, that’s the reason I haven’t made that yet. I was like Italian dressing??? Good to know that tomato sauce works- now I will definitely be trying this!!!

    • Liz July 6, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

      Yeah, I couldn’t bring myself to use the Italian dressing. It just sounded weird. Tomato sauce worked great!

  2. Amy July 6, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    That sounds REALLY good. I want to make it now.

    • Liz July 6, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

      You could easily cut this recipe in half and use a square baking dish to make 4 servings instead of 8. It was really, really good, and I didn’t mind eating leftovers for several days!

  3. Rachel in NC July 6, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    This looks really good!

Leave a Reply

