Meatless Monday: Creamy Avocado and White Bean Wraps

27 Jun


Just over two months ago, I moved back in with my parents. While most people my age would probably moan and groan about how horrible it is to be living back home, I feel really fortunate to have such a wonderful family. I am not only grateful that they have provided me a place to live but also that we are so close and have this chance to spend so much time together. I have mentioned before that my mom moved several states away last fall to attend law school, and I really missed her while she was gone. Having us both living in the same house is probably an adjustment for my dad, but I have thoroughly enjoyed having so much girl time! I have a pretty terrific family in general, and I’m not just saying that because they read this :D

My parents are particularly enthusiastic about all the cooking I’ve been doing since I’ve been back home, but they aren’t 100% sold on the idea of meatless meals just yet. I will gradually sneak them into our menus, though. Luckily, this one, my first attempt at winning them over with vegetarian cooking, was a huge success. First of all, I loved it because it was incredibly simple and quick to make. But the best part about it is that it doesn’t taste simple. The flavors are complex, and the crunch of the slaw mixture against the creamy avocado and white bean spread is just perfect. This was a definite homerun that would be perfect for upcoming picnics or holiday festivities.

Creamy Avocado and White Bean Wraps

2 tablespoons cider vinegar
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1/2 teaspoon chipotle powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
3 cups coleslaw mix
1 15-ounce can cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
1 medium avocado
2 ounces reduced-fat cheddar cheese, shredded
4 multigrain wraps

Whisk vinegar, oil, chipotle powder and salt in a medium bowl. Add cabbage mixture; toss to combine.

Mash beans and avocado in another medium bowl with a potato masher or fork. Stir in cheese.

To assemble the wraps, spread about 1/2 cup of the bean-avocado mixture onto a wrap and top with about 2/3 cup of the cabbage-carrot slaw. Roll up. Repeat with remaining ingredients. Cut the wraps in half to serve, if desired.

Serves 4.
From Eating Well.

8 Responses to “Meatless Monday: Creamy Avocado and White Bean Wraps”

  1. Sarah June 27, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    These look amazing- I will definitely be trying them!!!

    • Liz June 28, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

      Let me know what you think when you make them! I am tempted to make them again this week… they were that good.

  2. Lights.Camera.Jackson June 27, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    Wow, I want to eat these right now!

    • Liz June 28, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

      I saw you asked about lunch ideas a few days ago, and these would be great for that! I used canned beans, but if you use reduced sodium and rinse them before using, the sodium is lowered tremendously. Or you can always use dried beans. They were really, really good.

  3. April in CT July 6, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

    I can’t wait to try these!! We just moved to CA and this will be a perfect dinner on these warm days we’ve been having.

    • Liz July 6, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

      Congrats on the move! I hope you’ll enjoy these as much as we did. I’m already making them again this week which is quite rare around here :)

  4. April was in CT now CA July 20, 2011 at 11:52 pm #

    Finally made these tonight and I really loved them! I cut the chipotle powder in half (I had a bad experience with some canned chipotles once and that combined with being super sensitive to heat always has me overly cautious), but next time I’ll use the full amount and maybe add in some cumin. I loved the crunchy texture with the creamy mixture too! A great meal for a day I had no intention of heating the kitchen up. DH doused it in hot sauce as he does with most things, but he really enjoyed it too.

    • Liz July 24, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

      So glad you both enjoyed it! I find the chipotle powder is not as spicy as the canned chipotles, but I can definitely understand being a little cautious! :D

Leave a Reply

