Meatless Monday: Kale with Cannellini Beans

13 Jun


There are few vegetables I enjoy more than kale. In soups, sauteed, as “chips.” I can’t actually think of a way I’ve had kale that I didn’t like it, and so I am always looking for new ways to try preparing it. When I saw this original recipe, Kale with Bacon and Cannellini Beans, I was first drawn in to the crispy bacon atop the giant pile of greens and beans. I know this is supposed to be a post about going meatless, but I can’t help but love bacon. The first time I made this dish, I topped it with those crispy little strips of salty meat, and the dish was great. However, I didn’t really feel like the bacon or chicken broth added anything to the dish. The true flavor comes from the balsamic vinegar, crushed red pepper flakes, and greens. The velvety texture of the beans and kale is perfect on its own, and I actually prefer this recipe as a meatless dish. The vegetable stock adds a much richer flavor, and I didn’t miss the bacon at all. How’s that for a Meatless Monday promo?

Kale with Cannellini Beans

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1/2 medium onion, chopped
1/2 pound kale greens, roughly chopped
1 cup unsalted vegetable stock
15 ounce can of cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
1 teaspoon sugar in the raw

Set a large, heavy pot or skillet over medium heat; add oil.

Once hot, add garlic and red pepper flakes; cook, stirring, until garlic becomes fragrant, about 30 seconds to 1 minute.

Add onion; cook, stirring occasionally, until soft, about 10 minutes.

Add kale; cook, stirring occasionally, until it starts to wilt, about 5 to 7 minutes.

Add broth; cover and simmer over low heat until kale is just tender, about 8 to 10 minutes.

Add beans; simmer, uncovered, until liquid is almost evaporated, about 5 to 7 minutes.

Stir in salt, vinegar and sugar; serve immediately.

Makes 4 servings.
Modified from Weight Watchers.

3 Responses to “Meatless Monday: Kale with Cannellini Beans”

  1. joanne June 14, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    Perfect! I just LOVE greens & beans. I like it best when made using Escarole.

  2. spoonfuloflaughter June 23, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

    I love kale too and am always looking for new things to do with it. Yum!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sunday Inspiration: June Wrap-Up « spoonfuloflaughter - June 26, 2011

    […] Kale with Cannellini Beans – This Chihuahua Wears Pearls […]

Leave a Reply

