Salmon with Pepita-Lime Butter

15 Aug


Hello, again! I’m back from Canada, and I don’t think I even picked up an accent while I was away :) Toronto was a really fun city, and Niagara Falls is BEAUTIFUL. If you haven’t been, be sure to add it to your list of places to see. Didn’t you all love the Meatless Monday guest post from Sarah while I was away? She did a great job, and that recipe is definitely going on my menu soon. *round of applause for Sarah*

Now, I honestly haven’t done ANY cooking since we got back to town last Monday. Can you believe that? Well, I have a small excuse… last week was my birthday! And I got spoiled royally which meant quite a bit of eating out to celebrate. That’s the way it should be, right? Right. So I pulled this recipe from a folder of posts that have yet to be written, and I have to tell you, I’m wondering why I didn’t post this much sooner!

This is the perfect weeknight recipe, coming together in just a matter of minutes, and has a really nice, complex flavor. The crunch and nuttiness of the pepitas paired with the brightness of the lime and the richness of the butter is a fabulous combination for topping off the salmon, and the chili powder just adds a dab of spiciness. All in all, one of the best salmon dishes I’ve tried in a while, and definitely worth a taste.

Salmon with Pepita-Lime Butter
2 tablespoons roasted pumpkin seeds
1 tablespoon butter, melted
the juice and zest of one lime
1/4 teaspoon chili powder
4 4-ounce Atlantic Salmon Fillets

Place pumpkin seeds in a small bowl with butter, lime zest, lime juice and chili powder. Set aside.

Generously coat a large nonstick skillet with cooking spray and place over medium heat. Sprinkle salmon with salt and pepper, add to the pan and cook until browned and just cooked through in the center, 2 to 4 minutes per side. Remove the pan from the heat. Transfer the salmon to a plate. Add the butter-lime mixture to the hot pan; stir until the butter is melted. Serve the salmon topped with the sauce.

Serves 4.
From Eating Well.

3 Responses to “Salmon with Pepita-Lime Butter”

  1. Kayte August 15, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    First off, it’s great to have you back and it sounds like you had a fabulous vacation. Second, Happy Birthday!! Can’t get enough of those wishes, right? Third…this recipe looks fabulous, I love the idea of those flavors together and the idea of a crunch with the salmon. I need to try this one soon.

  2. Elina (Healthy and Sane) August 30, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    This post was totally a blast in the past for me because I’ve made this dish!! I even went back to my blog and found it, atrocious pictures and all. lol… see, evidence! http://blog.healthyandsane.com/2008/11/what-are-pepitas/
    PS – I’m hosting a pretty sweet giveaway. Check it out if you’re curious!

  3. Chaya September 23, 2011 at 12:26 am #

    I love salmon and like to make it differently, each time. Thanks for a good recipe to work from.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

