CEiMB: Noodle-Vegetable Salad

28 Jul


I’m still recovering from an icky stomach bug that I’ve had most of this week, so I’m going to keep this post short and sweet. Danica was our lovely hostess of the week for CEiMB, and she chose Soba Noodle-Vegetable Salad and Chicken Satay. Since I made the chicken quite some time ago and didn’t much care for the peanut butter sauce, I opted to stick with just the Noodle-Vegetable Salad this go-round. It came together quickly and seemed to be a hit with my book club girls!

Noodle-Vegetable Salad
5 ounces whole wheat spaghetti
1/2 leek, thinly sliced
2 cups shredded carrots
1 medium green bell pepper, julienned
2/3 cup basil, roughly chopped
1/3 cup Chinese rice wine vinegar
1/2 tablespoon sugar
1 tablespoon canola oil
1 teaspoon sesame oil
1/2 tablespoon minced garlic
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
the juice and zest of one lime
1 teaspoon fish sauce

Boil noodles according to package directions. Drain and cool. In a medium to large bowl, combine noodles, leek, carrot, bell pepper, and basil. Combine all dressing ingredients, season with salt to taste, add to noodle mixture, and toss lightly.

Serves 8.
Modified from Ellie Krieger’s “The Food You Crave: Luscious Recipes for a Healthy Life.”

2 Responses to “CEiMB: Noodle-Vegetable Salad”

  1. Margaret July 28, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    And I didn’t make the chicken either. But only because I didn’t see that on the CEinMB list. Actually like satay sauce, but…

    This was pretty good, wasn’t it. And easy to put together. Win Win

  2. Bri July 29, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

    Sorry to hear you didn’t like the Chicken with Peanut Sauce last time. I have to say, peanut sauce must be an acquired taste because I really didn’t care for it the first few times I ever tried it. However, I persisted on and tried it again and again, because I just refused to believe I could hate something that had peanut butter in it! I’m a bit of a peanut butter devotee, you see. And now….I do love satay sauce! So maybe give it another try if you’re feeling brave….

    Oh yeah, your salad looks delicious :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

