CEiMB: Sloppy Joes

21 Jul


This post is for my dad because, of all the things I’ve cooked over the past two months, this is the dish he keeps talking about. There’s been several dishes that he told me he would like to see again, but as he’s learning, I don’t really prepare the same recipe twice very often. So after he finished eating these Sloppy Joes, he looked at me and said, “When are you going to make these again? I want a date!” It’s only been a few weeks since I made them, but they have become his new mark to which all other recipes have been compared. “This was good, but it wasn’t Sloppy Joes.” “When are we having Sloppy Joes again?” These are the phrases that have become commonplace around the dinner table.

It’s crazy to me that the standout recipe is for something as simple as Sloppy Joes, but leave it to Ellie Krieger to turn such a traditional kid-friendly meal into something grownups will love too. I honestly can’t even remember the last time I ate a Sloppy Joe, and it definitely wasn’t something we ate regularly when I was growing up. I was just browsing through the recipes that the CEiMBers have already made that I missed and decided to give these a try. Well, needless to say, dinnertime around here may never be the same again. Luckily for my dad, his birthday is coming up, and I know just what to give him :D

Even though the rules have changed over at Craving Ellie in My Belly and we are now only posting every other week, I have lots of Ellie recipes to catch up on and will continue posting regular Thursday CEiMB recipes, at least for a while. We’re always looking for new members, so feel free to join in at any time!

Sloppy Joes

1 pound lean ground chicken
1 medium onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 medium jalapeno pepper, minced
1 large green bell pepper, chopped
1 15-ounce can red beans, drained and rinsed
12 ounces no salt added tomato sauce
1 6-ounce can of no salt added tomato paste
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
1 tablespoon molasses
1 tablespoon worcestershire sauce
1 teaspoon mustard powder
8 whole wheat sandwich buns

Brown the meat and the onion in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat for 5 minutes, breaking up the meat into crumbles as it cooks. Pour the drippings out of the pan and discard. Add the garlic, jalapeno, and red pepper and cook 5 minutes more, stirring occasionally. Stir in the rest of the ingredients, reduce heat to low, and simmer for 5 minutes more. Place a half-cup scoop of the mixture onto each bun and serve.

Serves 8.
Source: Healthy Appetite with Ellie Krieger

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

