CEiMB: Apple-Pecan Muffins

9 Jun


A couple weekends ago, I decided to try baking some lemon muffins. From a box mix. And it was a disaster. Despite coating the pan with cooking spray, the muffins all stuck and had to be scraped out into a crumbly mess. It was such a disappointment and also the perfect example of what kind of baker I am. A horrible one. As I mentioned yesterday, I love to cook, but a pastry chef I am not.

I really envy those of you who are bakers. We have some fantastically talented women in CEiMB that baked up breads, tarts, souffles, and anything else you could think of. It all looks so delicious, but I always have to enjoy it from afar because I don’t dare tackle some of the recipes these ladies whip up with ease. Well, this week is my turn to participate along with them as we all bake these Apple-Pecan Muffins chosen by our host of the week Joanne of Apple Crumbles. Joanne is a faithful CEiMBista; I don’t think I’ve seen her ever miss a week posting! I find this particularly inspiring since she has to vegetarianize all the recipes, yet every week she makes it work. I love seeing what she makes, and reading about both her meals and racing triumphs is so inspirational.

But back to the muffins. I was starting to get worried because I was missing two ingredients: baking soda and buttermilk. After a little internet research, I learned that using 2 teaspoons of baking powder in place of 1 teaspoon baking soda should work out OK. And then I decided to just use regular milk instead of buttermilk. Oh well. I have to say, these turned out great! They are so incredibly moist, and I just love the crunchy sugar/pecan topping. I was so impressed with my baking abilities that I just might try it again next week! :D The only recipe note I have is that even though I halved this recipe, I still ended up with 9 rather large muffins, so keep that in mind when deciding how much to make!

Apple-Pecan Muffins
3/4 cup + 2 tablespoons brown sugar, divided
1/4 cup chopped pecans
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons corn starch + 7/8 cup whole wheat flour (or 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour)
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup vegetable oil
2 eggs
1 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup fat free milk
1 medium Golden Delicious apple, peeled, cored, and diced

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Coat a 12-capacity muffin pan with cooking spray or foil muffin liners.

In a small bowl, mix together 2 tablespoons of the brown sugar, the pecans and cinnamon.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the all-purpose and whole-wheat flour, cornstarch, baking powder and salt.

In a large bowl, whisk the remaining 3/4 cup sugar and oil until combined. Add the eggs, 1 at a time, whisking well after each addition. Whisk in the applesauce and vanilla.

Whisk in the flour mixture in 2 batches, alternating with the milk. Whisk just until combined. Gently stir in the apple chunks.

Pour the batter into the prepared muffin pan and sprinkle with the pecan mixture. Tap the pan on the counter a few times to remove any air bubbles. Bake for 20 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center of 1 of the muffins comes out clean.

Let cool on a wire rack for 15 minutes. Remove muffins from pan, and cool completely on the rack.

Makes 18 muffins.
Source: Ellie Krieger’s “The Food You Crave: Luscious Recipes for a Healthy Life,” p. 22

9 Responses to “CEiMB: Apple-Pecan Muffins”

  1. Sarah June 9, 2011 at 8:49 am #

    143 cals for a muffin- that’s pretty great! These look gooooood!!! I’ll have to try this- minus eggs of course.

    • Liz June 9, 2011 at 11:27 am #

      They really turned out good, even with my questionable substitutions lol they’re really moist and the perfect density. The calorie count is based on getting 18 muffins, but they’re still good-sized!

  2. teaandscones June 9, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    Isn’t it nice when a mistake works out just fine. As you know I got 17 muffins from the full recipe. They were so good!!!

    Thanks for the nutrition label. Counting hubby’s calories because he needs to GAIN lots of weight. These are perfect for him.!!

  3. Peggy June 9, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    these were delicious even burned! Yours look great. I wish now I had added the pecans to mine. And I halved the recipe because it made so much!!!

  4. Joanne June 9, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    So glad you like the muffins AND you were successful in baking them. Also – I just LOVE being called a CEimBista :) (funny)

  5. Bri June 9, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    Hi Liz! I have to be honest; I didn’t realize this was you at first! I was all like “Who’s this new member of CEIMB who keeps making such nice comments on my blog posts?” See what happens when I go out of town for 10 days? Vacation brain!

    Anyway, yay! I’m so proud of you for baking these, despite being discouraged after your previous muffin disaster. I’m telling you, if you just keep taking baby steps like these, you’ll be whipping up bread and souffles in no time!

  6. Chaya June 9, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    I am thrilled that you were successful with these. One success leads to another.

    You can make a substitute for buttermilk by including one tablespoon white vinegar or lemon juice to 7 ounces of the milk. I do it all the time because I never have buttermilk.

    What are you baking next?

  7. bakingbluefinger June 10, 2011 at 4:58 am #

    Your muffins look perfect! I always use liners when baking muffins to prevent sticking.
    Will bake these tonight!

  8. Kayte June 24, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

    Bad me, I didn’t get to these, I have a little list of rewinds I need to do…this is one of them! Yours look delicious.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

